Hearth and Bard Tales

“Forest born! Ogre child! You’re nothing but a demon wild!”

Vasilisa has always been strong. She’s strong enough to break the arm of the bully that daily taunts her. She won’t because she and her mother are servants at the Orlov manor, and her mother would be punished for her retaliation. Instead Vasilisa bides her time until she is sixteen and can return to the forest.

Only Staver, the master’s son, shows her kindness. His friendship pulls as strong as the forest, but their classes are divided forever by law. She is a forest born, fatherless servant and her future at the manor holds mockery filled drudgery.

War threatens. The forest calls. Will she stay to protect the one who can never be more than a friend, or flee to the peace that the forest offers?

Read Vasilisa Now


Shi, shi, fourth and death.
Fourth sister and twin to death.
Brother born silent.

Blamed for her twin brother’s death, Shisei, the outcast fourth of seven sisters, apprentices herself to a mask maker; but when the local Kazoku accuses the youngest sister of killing his son, Shisei must lead her sisters in a deception that will either save the youngest or condemn them all.

Fourth Sister is a Japanese fairy tale retelling with sparse poetry and gold-mended brokenness. A Studio Ghibli type story which invokes reflection.

Little Women x Spirited Away

Read Fouth Sister Now


Come to Germania, where a clockwork heart rules and a fool advises–and a laugh can bring both to their knees.

When Princess Hette refuses a sorcerer’s proposal, he retaliates by stealing her heart—literally.

Desperate to resist his influence, Hette makes herself emotionless, stifling all feelings until she can find her heart and win it back. Only Konrad, the despised Court Fool, knows where to find the sorcerer, and he has his own curse to battle.

Riddles and magic plague their path, including a memory stealing witch, an unbeatable knight, and a magic book that would as soon drown them as lead them to their destination. Yet, if Hette can’t find the sorcerer in time, her heart will be the least of her losses.

Read Heartless Hette Now


Hearth and Bard Short Stories

Each of these short stories take place after the associated main story above.


After facing enslaving nobles and an invading army, Vasilisa’s life should have been dull comparatively. But raising precocious children is anything but dull, especially when one child inherited her love for adventure but not her talents, and another inherited her talents but fears to use them.

When a stranger broaches the borders of her home, Vasilisa must face old fears and fight to protect her loved ones. This time she doesn’t fight alone.

FLIGHT is a novelette that takes place after the events in the novel VASILISA.


Shisei has found her place as a mask-maker and eagerly awaits the coming of her first child. But complications arise and even with the help of her sisters and the midwife, she might not survive.

Shisei must draw on the wisdom of her husband, the trickery of the kitsune, and her own ability to create illusions to beat death.

BIRTH is a novelette that takes place after the events in the novel FOURTH SISTER.


Konrad planned on never marrying because of his curse, but plans change. He’s ready to start his happily ever after, but first he must get through ridiculous royal protocol, a riddle mongering owl, and a wedding suit designed to strangle the groom.

In the midst of wedding preparations, Konrad creates a gift for his bride, one he hopes will restore a part of what she sacrificed to save his life.

GIFT is a novelette that takes place after the events in the novel HEARTLESS HETTE.

Visit the ML Farb Author Store: paperbacks, author signed book labels, and more.

Note: Purchasing paperbacks through the author store will give the author a much larger percentage of the sale, and will help fund future books. Plus she will occasionally discount the paperbacks, passing on the savings to you.

%d bloggers like this: