The King’s Shadow

The King Trials Book Two

Two princes lead a war-broken people. One rules while the other serves in the shadows, haunted by encroaching death.

Halavant overthrew his queen mother to save his people from slavery, and now she seeks his life. Yosyph acts as the new king’s eyes and ears, but being invisible comes at great cost and his life is slipping away.

To save his closest friend, Halavant travels to the land of the skin-carving Carani, leaving Yosyph to rule a troubled people despite his ill health and the nobles on the verge of rebellion.

Unless Halavant can survive in the land of his enemies to find a cure and Yosyph can unite the frightened and starving people against a second war, both will die and their budding democracy will crumble under a new tyrant.

Sequel to Whitney Awards Nominee The King’s Trial

Available on Amazon

Get an Author Signed Copy

2020 Whitney Awards Nominee

Editorial Reviews

The King’s Shadow is a fantastic sequel to The King’s Trial—with faster-paced adventure, more sweet romance, and plenty of hope… I love when the second book of a series is better than the first, and that was the case with this duology! M.L. Farb is a wonderful storyteller.

  • Carol Beth Anderson, author of the Sun-Blessed Trilogy and The Frost Eater

I loved this story! It’s a fitting sequel to The King’s Trial and is just as good as the first book. It was fun reconnecting with the characters and watching them grow through the difficulties they faced and the choices they had to make. The world building is complex, and the cultures and government system are well thought out. I highly recommend The King’s Shadow to anyone who enjoys a good fantasy adventure!

  • Annie Douglass Lima, author of the Annals of Alasia and the Krillonian Chronicles

The story line is fantastic, the sensory details lush and realistic, and it was satisfying to see Yosyph’s faith grow through his trials, and also Halavant’s unexpected growth. Recommended to anyone who likes Christian fantasy adventure! Suitable for all ages.

  • Katy Huth Jones, author of the YA-fantasy series He Who Finds Mercy

Just as wonderful as the first in the series, this book captures hearts…. With old and new characters joining the story, readers follow the journeys of Yoseph, Katrin, Halavant, and Elise. Each battle their own demons as they strive to protect one another and their country. Fighting for all but themselves, they also learn to trust those around them and Yoseph’s god.

  • Kameo Monson, author of When Love is Lost

More reviews

Or see reviews on Goodreads, Bookbub, and Amazon.

%d bloggers like this: